Skip to content
SUNYA
Sunya / Energy AI research

Vista Energy / Proprietary AI monitoring for real-time completion design

AI-298 · Source-linked project profile. Read the scope, reported result and what remains unknown.

Open the interactive projectHow to read this evidence

What the source says

Vista says its own AI monitoring tool helps engineers make completion-design decisions in real time in Vaca Muerta.

Company
Vista Energy
Department
Drilling & completions
Record type
company_adoption
Disclosed stage
Operating since March 2025, per issuer
Source date
2025-11-12
Source-date precision
day
Source provenance
A · Operator filing
Review disposition
Source-attributed; not an independent validation

Reported result

Vista reports less than 1% of completion stages lost in 2025 and one runaway stage avoided per well on average. These are issuer-reported technical outcomes. The same slide prints a cost-saving unit as ~150 $M per well; that dollar amount is unresolved and excluded from comparisons. No net ROI is established.

What this does not establish

No matched baseline, well or pad population, effect-isolation method, tool costs or independent validation. Approval and execution rights are not disclosed. The schematic stage numbers are not a project population. The cost-saving unit is ambiguous even in the original image; no dollar benefit is normalized or counted. Investor day: 12 November 2025. Implementation since March 2025. Results labeled 2025; exact evaluation dates, well count and later continuation not disclosed.

What changed in completion decisions, and do the avoided stages still pay after tool costs and engineering review?

Original sources

Disclosure history

Vista uses AI monitoring to adjust completion designs

Vista says its own AI monitoring tool helps engineers make completion-design decisions in real time in Vaca Muerta. The tool identifies frac hits and helps adjust stimulation to protect parent wells. The investor-day slide says it has been used since March 2025.

No matched baseline, well or pad population, effect-isolation method, tool costs or independent validation. Approval and execution rights are not disclosed. The schematic stage numbers are not a project population. The cost-saving unit is ambiguous even in the original image; no dollar benefit is normalized or counted.

A source grade describes provenance, not independent verification. This is a research profile, not a measure of net return. Report a correction.